New Year's Honours awarded to members of the higher education community

New Year's Honours awarded to members of the higher education community

2 January 2019

Research England congratulates the higher education figures who were included in the 2019 New Year Honours list.

We would particularly like to congratulate:

Professor Madeleine Atkins CBE, the final Chief Executive of the Higher Education Funding Council for England (Research England’s predecessor body), who has been made Dame (DBE).

Dr Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust, and Dr Patrick Vallance, the government's Chief Scientific Adviser, who were awarded knighthoods.

Shirley Atkinson, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sunderland, Christopher Brown DL, Chair of Council at the University of Huddersfield, Professor Anne Carlisle, Vice-Chancellor of Falmouth University, Professor Raymond Linforth, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of University College Birmingham, and Professor Lynette Ryals, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Cranfield University, who have all received OBEs.

Lucy Findlay, Managing Director of Social Enterprise Mark CIC, and Professor Veronica Lewis, former Joint Principal, The Conservatoire for Dance and Drama, who received an MBE.

Professor David Green, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of the University of Worcester, and Professor Fiona Devine, Head of Alliance Manchester Business School who received a CBE.

We would also like to extend our congratulations to fellow UKRI colleague and Chair of the Medical Research Council, Donald Brydon, who received a knighthood.

A full list of honours is available here.