The Council

Research England is governed and supported by a Council of leading experts, helping to shape our strategy and overall approach.

The role of the Council is to:

  • Support the Executive Chair in ensuring the successful operation of Research England, including setting priorities and activities in line with UKRI's overall strategy, and considering key risks.
  • Provide expert advice on the development of Research England's strategic delivery plan. To monitor, review progress and act as a critical friend.
  • Provide strategic advice to UKRI on the research and knowledge exchange system of relevance to Research England.
  • Act as ambassadors and advocates for UKRI and Research England.

Council members

  • David Sweeney is the Executive Chair.
  • Dr Richard Armour - Former Secretary-General, University Grants Committee, Hong Kong
  • Professor Naren Barfield - Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, Royal College of Art
  • Kellie Beirne - Director of the Cardiff Capital Region City Deal
  • Dr Phil Clare - Deputy Director, Research Services (Knowledge Exchange and Engagement), University of Oxford
  • Professor Dame Jessica Corner - Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Knowledge Exchange), University of Nottingham
  • Professor Nandini Das - Professor of Early Modern Literature and Culture, University of Oxford
  • Professor Maria Delgado - Director of Research and Professor of Theatre and Screen Arts, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London
  • Dame Janet Finch - Former Vice-Chancellor of Keele University, and Honorary Professor of Sociology, University of Manchester
  • Professor Susan Hodgett - Professor and Director of Area Studies, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Graeme Reid - Professor of Science and Research Policy, University College London
  • Peter Saraga - (Senior Independent Member), Former Managing Director of Philips Research Laboratories UK, Chair of HEFCE's UKRPIF panel
  • Professor Deborah Smith - Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research, University of York

A Register of Interests (PDF) of the Council members is available.

Find out more about our team.

Council meetings

Meetings in 2020

  • Thursday 20 February 2020
  • Wednesday 15 April 2020
  • Thursday 4 June 2020
  • Wednesday 9 September 2020
  • Thursday 26 November 2020

Meetings in 2019